Woodbridge Township Historic Preservation Commission

Woodbridge Township, New Jersey

Chartered 1669

 7th Grade Historic Essay Contest

In cooperation with the Woodbridge Township School District, the Historic Preservation Commission sponsored an essay contest for 7th grade students in the five Middle Schools of the township school system.  Our thanks to Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Robert Zega, the Board of Education and Supervisor of Social Studies, Vincent

Soccodato for their support of this project.   One student from each of the Middle Schools is selected to receive a Savings Bond and certificate. Awards are presented each Spring.

Congratulations to our 2019 essay contest winners!
You can read the winning essays by clicking the below links.
Nidhi Rajput, Avenel Middle School
Rida Nadeem, Colonia Middle School
Dwarakesh Baraneetharan, Fords Middle School
Vaidehi Kaila, Iselin Middle School​

Anvita Sinha, Woodbridge MIddle School
Akshaya Karanam, St. James School

2018 essay contest winners

​Samantha Ayers, Fords Middle School

Sai Ashraya Chegu, Iselin Middle School
Dylan DaCunha, Avenel Middle School
Timothy Haklar, St. James School
Sophia Rollo, Woodbridge Middle School
Annamaria Savarese, Colonia Middle School

2017 essay contest winners
Christia Assa,
Avenel Middle School
Nicole Jorge, Colonia Middle School
Madison Yip, Fords Middle School
Aditi Parekh, Iselin Middle School
Julia Milevoi ,Woodbridge Middle School
Emily Brogan, St. John Vianney

2016 essay contest winners
Aafnan Alam, Avenel Middle School
Heshwin Singh, Colonia Middle School
Anbar Saleem, Fords Middle School
Michael Hein, Iselin Middle School
Kaitlyn Pinto, Woodbridge Middle School
Sara Kistner, St. James School

​2015 essay contest winners

Mikayla Calitis, Avenel Middle School

Katherine Demitus, Colonia Middle School

Mayrim Cortes, Fords Middle School

Sheaa Amin, Iselin Middle School

​Daniel Tajes, Woodbridge Middle School

2014 essay contest winners

Aisha Humaira, Avenel Middle School

Gianna Fantell, Colonia Middle School

Dharshna Sivasankaran, Fords Middle School

Keshav Kalia, Iselin Middle School

Eric McKenzie, Woodbridge Middle School